USES OF NICKEL

The physical and chemical attributes of nickel make it an essential component in the manufacture of thousands of products and in a wide range of applications. Nickel provides excellent protection against corrosion and resistance to high and extremely lows temperatures. It gives metal a greater ability to be shaped and bent without breaking (ductility). It has magnetic properties at room temperature and can be used as a catalyst in some processes. Nickel also increases the ability to store electrical energy in rechargeable batteries which represent a significant growth market for nickel.

The use of nickel increases with the level of development of a country's economy. Global demand has grown since the early 2000s at an average annual rate of 4% to 5%.   As electric vehicles come to play a larger role in fulfilling the world's transportation needs, this new source of nickel demand is expected to significantly add to the current baseline demand of the stainless steel and high performance alloys markets.

ELECTRIC POWER STORAGE

Nickel has long been used in several types of rechargeable batteries. Recently, the increased use of nickel in lithium-ion batteries has enabled them to provide higher energy density and greater storage capacity at lower cost.

Nickel content of new-generation battery cathodes batteries for electric vehicles has gone from 30% to 80% in order to optimize energy density. 

The competitive cost of storing renewable energy from wind and solar power in nickel batteries favours the adoption of these intermittent sources as a replacement for fossil fuels.

 


Stainless Steel and High Performance Alloys

Stainless steel and alloys that contain nickel are found in objects we use in everyday life as well as specialized applications that require high-performance materials. It should also be noted that nickel can be easily recycled. Thus, some of the stainless steel produced every year comes from the recovery of this metal.

Stainless steel is produced in the form of plates, bars, sheet metal, even tubes and wires. The nickel content in the stainless steel varies depending on the grades (type) of stainless steel and the properties that it is intended to give it. Most used contain between 8% and 13% of nickel (grades 304 and 316).

In addition, nickel is used in other alloys where it is associated with other metals such as chromium, copper, molybdenum (increased resistance to acids), cobalt (increased resistance to deformation) or titanium (memory metal).

In cupro-nickel alloys, nickel is associated with copper to increase the alloy's resistance to corrosion and reduce its tendency to be colonized by marine organisms. The proportion of nickel in this alloy can reach 10-30%. It is used for shipbuilding (propeller, hulls, etc.) and the construction of structures exposed to seawater (salt water  pipe, desalination plants, offshore platforms, fish farming, etc.).

Finally, nickel is sometimes used in a pure form (99%) in equipment intended for the chemical industry, because it has excellent resistance to corrosive environments and certain liquids or products such as dry chlorine, fluorine or hydrogen chloride. 

Image

Food preparation and appliances

The equipment used for the industrial preparation of food (cooking, pasteurization...) and in the home (cookware, kitchen sink) are usually made of stainless steel, because they must withstand heat and corrosion, and be easily washable.

Image

Medical and surgical equipment

The use of stainless steel for medical equipment (imaging, treatment), surgical tools as well as some prostheses (joints, implants, pacemakers) is common because it makes these items easy to sterilize and very durable.

Image

Heavy industries, chemical and pharmaceutical industries

Many industrial processes require equipment and components that will resist the aggressiveness of the products used (acids, bases) and the extreme conditions of the processes (high temperatures, pressures). Stainless steel is therefore used for the construction of tanks, chemical reactors and piping.

Image

Water supply and water treatment

Nickel makes water networks (pipes, wells, pumps) made of stainless steel more durable by reducing losses and preventing contamination.
Stainless steel is also used in water purification plants to (tanks, piping, desalination plants) and in wastewater treatment plants.

Image

Construction and architecture

Stainless steel is often used as an exterior and interior cladding in architecture for its weather resistance and aesthetic appearance. When used as concrete reinforcement it doubles the life of the concrete.

Image

Energy production

Nickel is widely used in renewable energy production facilities (wind turbine components, hydroelectric turbines).
Image

Transportation

Due to their resistance to high temperatures and corrosion, and to the low expansion and deformation they experience over time, nickel steels and alloys  are widely used in the manufacture of vehicles.  In automobile engines they  are used in critical components (exhaust valves, thermostats, gearboxes).

In subways, streetcars and trains, nickel steels are used to reinforce structures and improve their durability. They provide greater structural stability in the event of a fire, they are better able to absorb energy in the event of an impact.

The use of nickel-based alloys is also favored in shipbuilding and the construction of offshore structures (wind turbines, oil platforms) which must withstand marine conditions.

In aerospace, nickel-based alloys are used in axles and turbines. Improved engine performance when operating at higher temperatures saves fuel. They are also essential in the making of molds used for the manufacture of parts such as those made of carbon fibers which make it possible to lighten planes.


PLATING

Nickel plating provides a protective layer, facilitates weld adhesion, and can also be used to shield materials against electromagnetic interference. The use of nickel plating in coinage is well known, but nickel is also widely used for plating and coating in electronic components such as computer hard drives, microprocessors, integrated circuits, as well as aeronautic and automotive parts.


Nickel Mining

Currently, nickel mining operations take place in around 20 countries. Each year, over 2 million tonnes of nickel are mined worldwide, including 180,000 tonnes in Canada in 2018 (NRCan). This global production is expected to reach 4 million tonnes by 2030 (Roskill, Red Door Research).  

In its natural state, nickel can be found in the form of oxides, sulphides (including pentlandite) or silicates. Nickel is common in the Earth's crust and is found in higher concentration in the Earth's core.

Historically, nickel has mainly been produced from nickel sulphide deposits.  Nickel sulphide concentrates are conventionally produced from sulphide ores by flotation and magnetic separation, as is planned for the Dumont nickel project.

Nickel Processing

Concentrates from nickel sulphide deposits are then usually sent to smelters and refineries to produce pure nickel that can be used in a wide range of products. This downstream process is preferred when other by-product metals are associated with nickel in the concentrates and smelting and refining make it possible to recover them.

Since the 1990s, laterite deposits have become the main source of nickel for stainless steel production. Laterites are weathered rocks which have undergone intense surface leaching and concentration of nickel to ore grades.  Many laterite ores are processed to create ferronickel which is used directly in the production of stainless steel. In the case of ferronickel production, by-product metals are not recovered. 

Markets for Dumont's Nickel

Since approximately 95% of the value of Dumont nickel ore is accounted for by nickel, both smelting-refining to produce pure nickel and the lower-cost roasting method to produce ferronickel are viable options for the downstream processing and marketing of Dumont nickel sulphide concentrates.  A third processing option currently being developed for Dumont concentrates is leaching to produce nickel sulphates for the battery supply chain. 

MARKETS FOR Dumont's Nickel

UTILISATION DU NICKEL

Les différentes propriétés physiques et chimiques du nickel font de ce métal un allié précieux dans la fabrication de milliers de produits et une vaste gamme d’application. Le nickel apporte une protection accrue contre la corrosion et une plus grande résistance aux températures élevées et extrêmement basses. Il donne aux aciers une plus grande capacité à être mis en forme et à s’étirer sans rompre (ductilité). Il présente également des propriétés magnétiques à température ambiante et peut servir de catalyseur dans certains procédés. Le nickel permet aussi d’augmenter la capacité d’emmagasiner l’énergie électrique dans les piles rechargeables, ce qui représente un marché en croissance important pour le nickel.

L'utilisation du nickel augmente avec le niveau de développement économique d'un pays. La demande mondiale a augmenté depuis le début des années 2000 à un taux annuel moyen de 4 à 5 %. Étant donné que les véhicules électriques jouant un rôle de plus en plus important en matière de transport à l'échelle mondiale, la demande en nickel associée à ce secteur devrait contribuer à accroître la demande globale ne nickel en s'ajoutant à la demande des marchés de l'acier inoxydable et des alliages à haute performance.

STOCKAGE DE L'ÉNERGIE ÉLECTRIQUE

 

Le nickel est depuis longtemps utilisé dans plusieurs types de les batteries rechargeables. Récemment, l’utilisation accrue du nickel dans les batteries lithium-ion a permis de donner à ces batteries une densité d'énergie plus élevée et une plus grande capacité de stockage à moindre coût. Ainsi, la teneur des cathodes des batteries de nouvelle génération pour les véhicules électriques est passé de 30% à 80% afin d'accroître la densité énergétiques.

Les coûts compétitifs de stockage de l’énergie renouvelable provenant de l'éolien et du solaire dans des batteries au nickel favorise l’adoption de ces sources d'énergie intermittentes en remplacement des combustibles fossiles.

 

 


L’Acier inoxydable et les alliages haute performance

Les aciers qui contiennent du nickel, et plus particulièrement l’acier inoxydable, se retrouvent dans les objets que nous utilisons au quotidien, ainsi que dans des applications spécialisées qui requièrent l'usage de matériaux avec performances élevées. Soulignons également que le nickel peut être aisément recyclé. Ainsi une partie de l’acier inoxydable produit chaque année provient de la récupération de ce métal.

L’acier inoxydable est produit sous forme de plaques, de barres, de tôles ou encore en tubes et en fils. La teneur en nickel varie selon les nuances (type) d’acier inoxydable et les propriétés que l’on veut lui conférer. Les aciers inoxydables les plus couramment utilisés contiennent de 8 et 13 % de nickel (nuances 304 et 316).

En plus de l’acier inoxydable, le nickel est employé dans d’autres alliages où il est associé à d’autres métaux tels que le chrome, le cuivre, le molybdène (résistance accrue aux acides), le cobalt (résistance à déformation) ou encore le titane (métal mémoire).

Dans les alliages de type cupro-nickel, le nickel est associé au cuivre pour accroître la résistance de l’alliage à la corrosion et une plus faible tendance à être colonisés par la faune marine. La proportion de nickel peut atteindre 10 à 30 % de l’alliage qui est utilisé pour la construction navale (hélice, coques…) et la construction des structures exposées à l’eau de mer (conduite d’eau salée, usine de désalinisation, plateforme en mer, pisciculture…).

Finalement le nickel est parfois employé sous une forme pure (99 %) dans des équipements destinés à l’industrie chimique, car il présente une excellente résistance aux environnements corrosifs et certains liquides ou produits comme le chlore sec, la fluorine ou le chlorure d’hydrogène.

Image

Préparation des aliments
et électroménagers

Les équipements utilisés pour la préparation industrielle des aliments (cuisson, pasteurisation…) et à domicile (batterie de cuisine, évier…) sont largement composés d’acier inoxydable, car ils doivent résister à la chaleur, la corrosion et être facilement lavables.

Image

Équipements médicaux
et chirurgicaux

L’emploi de l’acier inoxydable pour les équipements médicaux (imagerie, traitement), les outils chirurgicaux ainsi que certaines prothèses (pivot, implants, stimulateurs…) est courant, car il est facile à stériliser et confère une bonne durabilité aux produits.
Image

Industries lourde, chimique
et pharmaceutique

De nombreux procédés industriels nécessitent l’usage d’équipements et de pièces qui vont résister à l’agressivité des produits utilisés (acides, bases…) et des traitements utilisés (températures élevées…). L’acier inoxydable est ainsi couramment utilisé pour la construction des réservoirs, des réacteurs chimiques ou encore des réseaux de conduites.
Image

Approvisionnement en eau
et traitement de l’eau

L’emploi d’acier inoxydable permet d’accroître la longévité des réseaux d’approvisionnement en eau (conduites, puits, pompes) et de limiter la corrosion pouvant occasionner des fuites et des sources de contamination. Il est également utilisé dans les usines qui traitent l’eau pour la rendre propre à la consommation (réservoirs, tuyauterie, usine de désalinisation...) et les systèmes de traitement des eaux usées.
Image

Construction
et architecture

L’acier inoxydable est souvent utilisé comme revêtement extérieur et intérieur en architecture pour sa résistance aux intempéries et son aspect esthétique. Lorsqu’on l’utilise dans les armatures pour le béton, il permet de doubler la durée de vie des infrastructures.
Image

Production
de l’énergie

Le nickel est aussi largement utilisé dans des installations de production d’énergie renouvelable (composantes d’éolienne, turbine hydroélectrique).
Image

Moyens de transport

En raison de sa résistance aux grandes températures, à l’oxydation et la corrosion et la faible expansion et déformation qu’ils connaissent dans le temps, les aciers et alliages contenant du nickel sont largement utilisés dans la fabrication des véhicules à commencer par les voitures (valves d’échappement, thermostats, boîte de vitesse…).

Au niveau des trains et des rames de métro et de tramway, les aciers avec du nickel sont utilisés pour renforcer les structures et leur durabilité. En d’offrir plus de résistance en cas d’incendie, ils sont à même de mieux absorber l’énergie en cas d’impact.

L’emploi d’alliage à base de nickel est également privilégié dans la construction navale et la construction des installations en mer (ex. éolienne, plateforme pétrolière) qui doivent résister aux conditions marines.

Dans l’aérospatial, les alliages à base de nickel sont mis à contribution au niveau des essieux et des turbines. L’amélioration du rendement qu’il procure aux moteurs en fonctionnant à des températures plus élevées permet de réaliser des économies de carburant. Il est également indispensable dans la fabrication des moules utilisés pour la fabrication de pièces légères comme celles en fibres de carbone qui permettent d’alléger les avions.


PLACAGE

Le nickel est utilisé sous forme de placage pour fournir une couche de protection, faciliter la bonne adhésion des soudures ou blinder les matériaux contre les interférences électromagnétiques. On connaît le placage qui est fait sur les pièces de monnaie, mais le nickel est aussi largement employé dans les composantes électroniques comme les disques durs informatiques, les microprocesseurs et circuits intégrés et dans l’aéronautique et l’automobile.


Extraction du nickel

Actuellement, une vingtaine de pays compte des mines de nickel. Plus de 2 millions de tonnes de nickel sont extraites chaque année dans le monde, dont 180 000 tonnes au Canada en 2018 (RNCan). On s’attend à ce que cette production mondiale atteigne plus 4 millions de tonnes en 2030 (Roskill, Red Door Research).

À l’état naturel, on le retrouve le nickel sous forme d’oxydes, de sulfures (notamment la pentlandite) ou de silicates. Ce métal est commun dans la croûte terrestre et se retrouve en plus grande concentration dans le noyau terrestre.

Historiquement, le nickel a surtout été produit à partir de gisements de sulfures de nickel. Le concentré produit à partir de sulfures est obtenu le plus couramment par flottation et séparation magnétique, comme ce qui est prévu pour le projet Dumont Nickel.

Traitement du nickel

Le concentré provenant des gisements du sulfure de nickel est généralement acheminé vers des fonderies et affineries afin de produire du nickel pur qui pourra ensuite être utilisé dans une large gamme de produits (acier, placage, batterie...). L’envoi du concentré vers les fonderies est aussi privilégié, car d’autres métaux sont souvent associés au nickel et leur récupération passe par ce processus de fonderie et d’affinage.

Depuis les années 90, les gisements de latérites ont commencé à devenir la principale source de nickel pour la production d’acier inoxydable. Exploités à ciel ouvert, ces gisements sont constitués de roches altérées qui ont subi un lessivage intense en surface sous l’effet de climats humides et chauds (ex. tropical). Le concentré provenant de nombreux gisements de latérites est transformé en ferronickel qui entre ensuite directement dans la production d’acier inoxydable. Lorsque le concentré est transformé en ferronickel, les sous-produits qu'il contient ne sont pas récupérés.

Marchés pour le projet Dumont

Étant donné que près de 95 % de la valeur du minerai de Dumont provient du nickel, la traitement en fonderie et affinage pour produire du nickel pur ou par grillage à moindre coût pour produire du ferronickel constituent deux options viables pour le traitement en aval et la commercialisation du concentré de sulfure de nickel de Dumont.

Une troisième option de traitement en aval est actuellement à l'étude pour le concentré de Dumont. Il s'agirait de traiter le concentré par lixiviation pour produire des sulfates de nickel pouvant entrer dans la chaine de fabrication des batteries. 

MARCHÉS POUR LE NICKEL DE DUMONT